Skip to main content

How to delete or deactivate your Apple ID account

man using keyboard on laptop computer
Apple's website allows you to delete or deactivate your Apple ID.
  • You can delete your Apple ID from Apple's Data & Privacy website.
  • Deleting your Apple ID will also delete any content stored in your iCloud account and revoke your access to Apple services. 
  • You may instead choose to deactivate your account and then reactivate it at any time to restore access to your Apple ID and Apple services. 
  • Visit Insider's Tech Reference library for more stories.

While an Apple ID is essential for using an iOS device, if you are leaving the Apple device ecosystem, you might want to delete your account to clean up your digital footprint. Whatever reason you might have to want to deactivate your account, though, Apple makes it easy to do this on its Data & Privacy website. 

How to delete an Apple ID account

If you anticipate having no need for your Apple ID ever again and want to permanently deactivate it, you can use Apple's Data & Privacy website. If you do this, here is what happens:

  • You won't be able to sign into any Apple services that use your Apple ID. This includes the App Store, iCloud, iTunes, Apple Pay, FaceTime, and others. 
  • Any content stored in your iCloud account is permanently deleted. This includes photos, videos, music, and documents, so download anything you want to keep and store it separately from your iCloud account. 
  • You won't be able to receive messages via iMessage, FaceTime, or iCloud Mail. 
  • If you have a paid iCloud storage plan, it'll be automatically canceled. But if you have any other subscriptions managed by your Apple ID, such as Apple Music or Apple TV+, you need to cancel those manually before you delete the account. 

When you are ready to delete your account, do this:

1. Open Apple's Data & Privacy website in a browser. If you're not already logged in, sign into the Apple ID account you want to delete. 

2. Scroll down and in the Delete your account section, click Request to delete your account.

The Apple Data & Privacy webpage in Chrome
To start the deletion process, click Request to delete your account.

3. Review what happens when you delete your account and make sure you've done everything in the Before deleting your account section. Then select a reason for deleting the account in the dropdown menu and click Continue.

4. Review the next page of warnings and click Continue

5. Click the checkbox to agree to the Deletion Terms & Conditions and then click Continue

6. Indicate how Apple should contact you with status updates for the account deletion and click Continue

7. Record the access code Apple provides and click Continue.

8. Complete the final steps to confirm your intention to delete your account and then, on the confirmation screen, click Sign out

Apple will then manually verify this is a valid request. You will get confirmation, usually within about a week, that your deletion is complete. 

How to deactivate an Apple ID account

If you want to step away from your Apple ID and prevent it from being used, but you're not necessarily ready to completely delete your data and access to Apple services, you can choose to deactivate your account instead. This is a temporary measure; your data is not deleted, and you can reactivate your account easily. Here's what happens if you deactivate your account:

  • Apple will freeze your data and not process or handle it.
  • You won't be able to access Apple services that require your Apple ID, including iCloud, the Apple Store, Apple Pay, iMessages, and more.
  • You won't be able to send or receive messages via iMessage, FaceTime, or iCloud Mail.  

When you are ready to deactivate your account, do this:

1. Open Apple's Data & Privacy website in a browser. If you're not already logged in, sign into the Apple ID account you want to delete. 

2. Scroll down and in the Temporarily deactivate your account section, click Request to deactivate your account.

The Apple Data & Privacy webpage in Chrome
To deactivate your account, click Request to deactivate your account.

3. Follow the instructions on each page to confirm you want to deactivate your account and proceed with the deactivation process. 

4. On the confirmation screen, click Sign out

Deactivation generally takes about a week to be processed and approved by Apple, and you will get a notification when it is complete. Apple will also send you instructions on how to reactivate your account, should you want to. 

Read the original article on Business Insider


from Business Insider https://ift.tt/3mGDiy1
via IFTTT

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Nintendo Switch has been the US’s bestselling console for 23 straight months

Photo by James Bareham / The Verge It’s been a good two years for the Nintendo Switch. According to Nintendo, the gaming tablet has been the bestselling console in the US for 23 straight months. And according to data from the NPD Group, it just had its best October ever, moving 735,926 units of both the Switch and Switch Lite in the US. The company says that represents a 136 percent increase compared to last year. To date, the Switch has sold 22.5 million units in the US, and last week Nintendo revealed that more than 68 million units have been sold globally . “We’re excited about our momentum,” says Nick Chavez, Nintendo of America’s SVP of sales and marketing. Chavez puts the company’s big October down to two main factors. One is a better supply of stock; this year in particular, it’s often been hard to find a Switch on store shelves. This has only been exacerbated by increased demand due to a combination of the pandemic and the breakout success of Animal Crossing: New Horizons . ...

Instagram accidentally reinstated Pornhub’s banned account

After years of on-and-off temporary suspensions, Instagram permanently banned Pornhub’s account in September. Then, for a short period of time this weekend, the account was reinstated. By Tuesday, it was permanently banned again. “This was done in error,” an Instagram spokesperson told TechCrunch. “As we’ve said previously, we permanently disabled this Instagram account for repeatedly violating our policies.” Instagram’s content guidelines prohibit  nudity and sexual solicitation . A Pornhub spokesperson told TechCrunch, though, that they believe the adult streaming platform’s account did not violate any guidelines. Instagram has not commented on the exact reasoning for the ban, or which policies the account violated. It’s worrying from a moderation perspective if a permanently banned Instagram account can accidentally get switched back on. Pornhub told TechCrunch that its account even received a notice from Instagram, stating that its ban had been a mistake (that message itse...

MVP versus EVP: Is it time to introduce ethics into the agile startup model?

Anand Rao Contributor Share on Twitter Anand Rao is global head of AI at PwC . The rocket ship trajectory of a startup is well known: Get an idea, build a team and slap together a minimum viable product (MVP) that you can get in front of users. However, today’s startups need to reconsider the MVP model as artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning (ML) become ubiquitous in tech products and the market grows increasingly conscious of the ethical implications of AI augmenting or replacing humans in the decision-making process. An MVP allows you to collect critical feedback from your target market that then informs the minimum development required to launch a product — creating a powerful feedback loop that drives today’s customer-led business. This lean, agile model has been extremely successful over the past two decades — launching thousands of successful startups, some of which have grown into billion-dollar companies. However, building high-performing product...